Deadlines (the horror!)

Over the years I’ve been known to set a deadline or two. I’ve also been known to ignore those deadlines and procrastinate even harder, but that’s not the point I’m trying to make. Ultimately I rarely use them as a tool when I write because of a very simple reason; missing one feels like failing.

Setting a deadline is a big deal. You’re making a commitment (whether just to yourself or to anyone else, it doesn’t matter) and by introducing that you’re creating a possibility of failure. It doesn’t really matter whether anyone even knows about the deadline you’re setting; it’s there and it’s your responsibility.

Now I have a real fear of failure (I’m sure everyone has their own laundry list of neuroses, right?) and giving myself a new way to do it never feels good. But then I also don’t write like I used to and will often let ideas languish as I never commit them to paper or screen.

So which is worse? The fear of failure to meet your own goals/targets/deadlines? Or is it worse to never actually start the work? The half-finished manuscript or the blank page?

Pick one.

Or pick neither and actually get it done. Set a goal, do the work. Or miss the goal but do the work anyway.

That’s my plan for this year. If I’m going to fail at anything (especially a deadline), I intend to at least fail whilst putting pen to paper (or fingertips to keys, or voice to mic, etc, etc, etc).

Care to join me?

Let me know what you think